About Us

Focusing on today and the future

In November 2012, Governor Brian Sandoval issued Executive Order 2012-19 establishing the Nevada Sagebrush Ecosystem Council recognizing the critical importance of this expansive landscape to the citizens and natural resources of the Silver State, as well as to the 11 western states.

Today, the Sagebrush Ecosystem Program, is an integrated, multi-disciplined, multi-agency effort with a shared goal of addressing the threats and challenges to this critical ecosystem for today and into the future.  Read on to learn about the history, organizational structure, and activities of Nevada's Sagebrush Ecosystem Program or download the Latest Progress Report.

Sagebrush Ecosystem Council Members

The Sagebrush Ecosystem Council consists of nine members and six ex-officio members.  Governor Brian Sandoval originally established the Council with Executive Order 2012-19.  During the 2013 Legislative Session, AB461 was approved, and the resulting statutes (NRS 321.592 and NRS 321.594) provide state administration.  Nevada's legislators are the first in the 11-state western region to formalize the state's commitment to this effort within statute. Meet the Council members.

Sagebrush Ecosystem Technical Team

The Sagebrush Ecosystem Program taps the talents of scientists and range managers, along with their respective agencies—housing them under one roof—to work in tandem to develop innovative solutions in conservation.  Meet the members of the Sagebrush Ecosystem Technical Team.

The Nevada Collaborative Conservation Network (NVCCN)

The State of Nevada, the US Forest Service, and the Bureau of Land Management are working together to use the Nevada Collaborative Conservation Network (NVCCN) to achieve effective conservation of sagebrush ecosystems in Nevada in conjunction with implementation of the sage-grouse plan amendments. The NVCCN empowers both stakeholders and land managers to cooperatively resolve conflict and build a collaborative position whether the discussion is at the local level, or when appropriate, referred to the Governor’s Sagebrush Ecosystem Council.  View the NVCCN FAQ document here.

Local Area Working Group (LAWGs)

The LAWGs provide all stakeholders with an opportunity to work together in actively managing and restoring landscapes across boundaries. Even with collaboration there is a realization that to be successful there is a need for more investment from all sources to achieve sage-grouse conservation objectives. LAWG membership includes representation from private land owners, tribes, federal land management agencies, local governments, conservation districts, United States Fish & Wildlife Service (USFWS), United States Geological Service (USGS), Nevada Department of Wildlife (NDOW), Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO), United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Agricultural Research Service (ARS), University of Nevada, Reno (UNR), Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), Department of Defense (DOD), sportsmen, mining, energy, Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) users, agricultural and environmental interests.